Wasting Paper

I can’t think about you today.

That’s the promise I made to myself in vain,
the New Year’s resolution to lose 20Ibs by February,
but my heart beats a little differently
when your name comes up doesn’t it?
as if you set my pulse to music.
Like what gave you the right?
Sometimes I almost wish you knew…the shapes your voice
folds my thoughts into
like cheap origami souvenirs,
but I’m the only one who keeps them
and it all begins to pile up.
You, living your happy, paperless existence
and me left with all the clutter,
but I can’t blame you for that can I?
because in the end it’s all just paper
and by itself I just can’t call that “baggage”
even though it weighs a ton.
I shouldn’t think of you at all today
because every poem is just another piece of origami
I unfolded just to have something to write on
and that doesn’t help the clutter
and it’s not that I’m hung up on you
I just don’t like wasting paper.

Leave a comment