Distant Chimneys

There are distant chimneys I knew as a child

hidden factories of char and age

now monuments of rust

the weathered love songs of gray brick

with roofs as close as ivy ever reaches heaven

there are buildings with no names but in the sunset

have soft faces, fixed expressions, wrinkled smiles

I walk by them even now…like old men who still sit outside,

I almost want to wave “hello”

Light creeped like timid animals

and each hour had a feel to it

when we watched the clouds from porches

knew the smell of one lawn from another that…

was just a little different in the shade remember?

black silhouettes of starlings dotted power lines like ash

the final embers of the day extinguished in the eulogy of dusk

suspended in mid air floating just above the wire drifting off…

into a sun that swallowed everything but just smaller than the sky some how

and we were always waiting for the credits never knowing quite whose line came next

and Mom could hardly make me come inside back then and yet…

I don’t remember when I’ve seen the stars last…you?

Leave a comment